UFO in the sky over Kansas City, Mo. – July 3, 2011

Witness: I was getting ready to run a quick errand, pulling my truck out of the garage, I looked up and saw this. Yelled up to Lori, to grab my camera, It’s not a plane, or a jet, I do not think it’s a fire work. If it was a Chinese Lantern wouldn’t it be blowing with the wind? It was steady, and there was no wind, or sound. My neighbor Todd said he saw it, he thought it was a firework. Tell me what you think.

Source and author:  (youtube)

41 responses to “UFO in the sky over Kansas City, Mo. – July 3, 2011

  1. we saw the same thing at my house. My wife called me out and said this black thing just popped out of the sky with fire under it. I came out and started looking at it and since we were at about a 30 degree angle from underneath, you could see this fire or what looked like fire, started out bright and as it passed by it was dimming out and flashing until it stopped all together. I shot a video of it as well but it only when it finally got too far.

    Like

  2. I live in union missouri. We had just finished watching the town fireworks @ 930pm 7-3-11. My family and I saw the same exact thing. We had watched it for a couple min before we coud no longer see it from the clouds. It was one of the freakest things that I have seen.

    Like

  3. It looks like a teenage mutant ninja turtle, seriously though it would’ve been nice to have seen this on a high powered zoom.

    Like

  4. Ok here you are!! I was looking for some one who had see what we saw. around 9 and 9:30, like 15 to 20, lights flew above our house in Lee’s Summit, we saw them first thru our window, and then we all came out to observe them, they were a lot of them!!! they got lost above the clouds.

    Like

  5. I saw the same thing around 10:00 p.m. July 3, 2011 at my house in north Lee’s Summit. I am about 1/2 to 1 mile off of 40 highway and Lee’s Summit Road. I went out to watch the fireworks going off, turned to go back in my house and saw a fireball moving from northwest to southeast very slowly. It stopped for a few minutes and hovered. As it hovered I could make out dimly lit rectangular windows on each side, then it moved off slowly to the east and disappeared into the clouds. I was really, really hoping someone besides me saw this thing. I only saw one.

    Like

    • storminnorm13

      My girl friend and I saw at least 50 orange orbs of light like this in Blue Springs MO. traveling east to west. The first one was a huge black object with an orange light, also saw one that had a winged saucer shape. Some would fly very fast to catch up with another then the first would show or stop til the second would fly past. One instance there were 3 in formation. They flew low to the ground between 9pm to 11pm. Others witnessed this also.

      Like

    • I’m sorry VK. That was just a cardboard box. They do these things all the time on a windy day. Most folks simply don’t notice.

      Like

  6. I was in Festus, Mo and saw one of the same things. We took some decent pictures of it. I was with my wife and a friend and we all saw it. It sure is bizarre! Hopefully someone can figure out what they were.

    Like

  7. We saw the same thing in South Denver on July 3 2011 around 10pm.

    Like

  8. Darryl Hagenow

    I was in Green Bay WI last night at approx 9:30 pm when a friend and I went outside to smoke a cig, we then seen this bright orange light that looked like a huge firework at about roof level, it then just kept climbing up and away, thats when we knew it wasnt a shuttle or a plane of any kind! It was traveling way way too fast and went up and away towards the stars until it disappeared! Glad other ppl saw and captured it on video! Supprised its not getting world wide attention, exact things have been seen in toronto, brazil, juresulem and russia all within the last week!

    Like

  9. My wife and I saw the same thing at 10 PM July 4th above Seneca, KS. Too fast for anything normally seen in the skies.

    Like

  10. Kaleigh Powell

    This is so wierd! I live in Kansas City, MO and I saw this last night too! I was with a friend at Zona Rosa and we were walking to her car around 9:30pm. I saw something odd out of the corner of my eye and I saw it for a few seconds. It was lower to the ground than it is in this video but what made me think it was a UFO was the fact that it was as high as a plane should be but it didn’t look like one and it sort of hovered to the ground. Then all of a sudden it was gone. I stopped walking and stared for a few seconds then it was almost a mile away in the sky. There is no way a plane could have made it that fast! Very strange experience!

    Like

  11. My family and I saw 5 separate ones tonight during our fireworks. Each one was flying.in the exact same flight path. I thought we were all crazy but then my friends said they saw the same thing in lees summit! Im NOT a believer, but there was NI explanation for what we saw. Im glad we are not alone.

    Like

  12. jenny tatum

    Its a chinese lantern. We all saw them last night!

    Like

    • Jenny,

      I am a very well-educated sceptic. I do NOT believe in extra-terrestrial beings. In fact, scientifically it would be impossible for there to be life on most other planets. I have been studying these flying objects since the first recent sighting on May 21, 2011. The first thing I thought, of course, was Chinese Lanterns.

      Problem, Chinese lanterns would not be able to fly in the atmosphere that high above sea level. The atmospheric pressure would crush it. Also, these things that we saw (I say “things” because I still do not know what they are), were not bloing in the wind. The were following a straight, very specific flight path. Most that noticed these on the 4th said they were flying in a southerly direction, yet the wind on the 4th was a north-easterly blowing wind. Many people have also noticed them “hover” and not move at all. Im not saying this was a space ship. As I said, Im not a believer in that. But I can GUARANTEE it was NOT a Chinese lantern.

      Lastly, and no, I am absolutely NOT claiming a government conspiracy. Im not crazy, in fact, I work for the government. But after we saw the first “thing”, the sky above us was full of 5-6 air force fighter planes. They were going around in circles like they were looking for something. Is it possible that they saw something unidentifiable on their radar? Absolutely it is. I will continue researching this as I am sure I will find a logical explanation besides UFO. I HAVE to know what that was so I can quit feeling like I have lost my mind!

      Like

  13. storminnorm13

    My girl friend and I saw at least 50 orange orbs of light like this in Blue Springs MO. traveling east to west. The first one was a huge black object with an orange light, also saw one that had a winged saucer shape. Some would fly very fast to catch up with another then the first would show or stop til the second would fly past. One instance there were 3 in formation. They flew low to the ground between 9pm to 11pm. Others witnessed this also.

    Like

  14. Wow! We saw this on Sunday night in Pleasant Hill, MO around 10:00 pm- then again on our way home over 40 hwy and old Noland rd. Then again on monday night in Lee’s Summit and then AGAIN in Independence!
    The first time, in Pleasant Hill, I saw it coming from the North East headed South West. Then made a turn to head North west and faded away. Seconds later, we saw a second one. It followed the EXACT SAME flight path and disappeared as well!
    Then again on our way home, around 10:45 or so we spotted two of them again doing the same thing and at roughly the same point in the sky- only MUCH closer to our position. I pulled in the old strip mall on 40 hwy where Old Time Pottery is located and stopped the car and got out. We watched as the second light “turned off” above the strip mall- headed south west- and then observed a pale white bubble just cruising by. My wife described it best as a jellyfish without tentacles. It was the weirdest thing.
    I told my neighbor about it and he told me that he witnessed it as well the night before over Lake Viking. He said it looked like a plane that was on fire.
    Then last night at 9:45 my wife and I saw them again in Lee’s Summit, MO. Only this time they didn’t seem to be following a flight pattern as before. There where 3 of them just hovering. Then they disappeared. Moments later as we drove north on 50 hwy between the 291 south and 3rd st exits it re-appeared. heading south and crossed the highway right above us! I nearly wrecked trying to watch it. Looked like fire! couldn’t have been a hot air balloon as I’ve seen those before and this was a steady flame. by now, we’re pretty freaked out. I’m watching the sky the whole way home. We get on 40 hwy and head west. I pull in toys r us parking lot to get a view of the sky, and right then directly above us headed due west is the exact same pale white jellyfish thing! we watched it until the lights of the parking lot blocked our view. This was maybe a quarter of a mile from where we had seen it the night before. Not sure what this is, but I had to get online to see if anyone else had witnessed it. Kinda glad to see we weren’t the only ones, but still pretty freaked out knowing so many did!

    Like

  15. My husband and I saw this both on the 3rd and the 4th of July. We saw the lights in Pleasant Hill, MO around 9:45p.m. and on our drive home saw the objects close up in Independence, MO and Lee’s Summit MO. One flew right over our car in Lee’s Summit on the 4th. It seemed when the orange light or flame like feature turned off and dimmed down the object had a white membrane just above what looked like a black round unit below that was creating the light. We watched as the white membrane floated across the sky into the distance. Because of the shape and coloring of the object we were unable to capture a picture. We saw this same object the night before on the 3rd floating over Old Noland Road in Independence Mo. The orange light was on then turned off and the white membrane appeared (became visible after the orange light was off) floated with ease silently across the sky almost like a balloon. However, this was NOT a balloon. I’ve never seen anything like this in my life. I goggled flying objects like mini hot air balloons and Chinese lanterns and nothing looked like the objects we saw in the sky. They were flying way too high in the sky to be a balloon or a lantern and moving at a very fast rate. On both occasions there were two orange lights flying together at a distance in the same flight pattern displaying the same characteristics hovering, light dimming, and a white membrane appearing above the black box, then floating horizontally across the sky, disappearing into the distance.

    Like

  16. A group of us saw 6 different ones by themselves from 9 to 10 pm last night (july 4th) in Federal Way wa. flying from the east on a southwest trajectory and then at about 11 pm we saw two groups of 3 come across the sky. They were changing positions with each other the entire time and were going forward and backwards and were occasionally blinking on and off from there bright orange and red color. The people that saw these range in age from 10 to 82 and we all agreed that this was not normal.

    Like

  17. Freakedoutrightnow

    july 4th 2011 around 12:00 or so i was sittin outside & jus seen a big ball of fire cross the sky. we thought it was a hot air balloon but it was moving 2 fast 2 be one of those! it was jus pasting across the sky until it disappeared…& it looked like it came off of the next block because the street was flickering like a strobe light hit it!!! im dead serious & really freaked out @ this point

    Like

  18. Saw the same light on july 4th around 10:08 pm in Lee’s summit, mo. Looked like a fire ball moving east to west. Since other people witnessed the same thing in other states, it was probably something entering our atmosphere, that explains the orange/reddish glow, it was burning up. It looked like it was close to the ground but it was more than likely several miles in the sky. Looks can be deceiving when a object is re-entering the atomsphere. It look’s close but is several miles away.

    Like

  19. Lisa and Ryan

    Hi Margie,

    I’m not sure what we saw, but I wanted to report this to someone who might be tracking this information closely. My husband and I live on the southeast edge of Pleasant Hill, Missouri which is about a 10-15 minute drive southeast of Lee’s Summit, Missouri. We had just gotten back from watching the City firework show yesterday night (July 4, 2011), and my son and I were sitting on our back porch which faces to the southeast watching neighbors fireworks. My husband was in the front of the house which faces to the northwest.

    It was about 10:00 p.m. when my son asked what something was in the sky. I looked and I saw a bright orange glow in the shape of a circle that was moving from the northeast to the southwest. To me, it looked to be at about the height of our 2-story home and was moving very evenly on a linear track. There was absolutely no sound. At first I had thought it was a piece of firework debris that was on fire. I watched it closely thinking that I didn’t want it to land on the roof and catch our house on fire. But then I realized that it was not bobbing up and down, or moving erratically like you would expect a piece of paper to do in the wind. It was also not dying down, which you would expect a piece of paper on fire to do. I began to think it was pretty odd, but didn’t even think that it could be a UFO.

    About a minute later, my husband ran from the front of the house saying “Do you see that!”. He does note believe in anything other-worldly, and believes that there is a very reasonable explanation to everything. This had him stumped. It continued to climb higher for about a minute and then it faded away. It was hard to tell if it had just faded away or just got higher and we couldn’t see it anymore.

    One reason why I had initially thought it was a piece of paper on fire was that the glow was only on one side of the object. Not like a solid orb. I felt that I had a pretty up close look at it, but then my husband thought that it was at an elevation similar to an airplane coming in for a landing. We live in a somewhat rural area. Our property is about 2-acres, which is long and narrow and backs up to a tree line. There would be no airplanes coming in for a landing there, nor are there any crops on the adjacent properties for crop dusters. We live in a subdivision where everyone has about 2 to 4 acres of land, but it is only residential.

    After that, we stood on our driveway facing to the west. Then we started to see about 8 or 9 of these same orange “orbs” on the western horizon. This is when I realized something was very different. They moved in the same manner, in a long steady, linear track but gradually got higher and higher. The kind of flickered like balls that were on fire. We saw about 5 or 6 that initially began in the northwest horizon (we were guessing over Greenwood, MO or Lee’s Summit, MO, but they could have been closer) and then tracked to the south. We saw about 3 that initially began from the southwest and tracked to the north. What was weird is that they all tracked to the exact location on the western horizon before they dissapated, including the first one that flew overhead. It couldn’t have been chinese lanterns because they flew in three different trajectories, some opposite of the wind last night which was from the east-southeast during that time. The one that I saw up close was definitely not a chinese lantern. Also, they could not have been airplanes because of the first one that flew overhead did not make any noise, nor were there any noise lagging behind it like you would expect in a jet plane.

    One last thing, these must have been moving very, very fast based on the rate of where they moved on the horizon.
    I’ve never seen anything like this before, and neither has my husband. We are stumped and cannot believe what we saw. We did some research online last night and found that these same orange orbs are being documented around the country, including several last night during firework shows. Their videos look exactly like what we saw.

    Like

  20. i was in leavenworth kansas last night and i saw one around 9:30 pm on the 4th then again around 10 pm there have been 3 calls to knbc about it and the guy is trying to get a story together .

    Like

  21. Jackie McCurry

    I also have pictures of white orbs here in west monroe, louisiana. The first time i got a picture it was cloudy, but the second time it was clear and the picture was very clear..they were in a V shape..I did submit the photo’s here. I do not think it is a lantern…

    Like

  22. CatherineH

    My family and i were at lake Cumberland in Kentucky. We all saw it and thought it was maybe the returning space shuttle and then thought it was a plane on fire. It went over our head into the horizon going south, south-east and then disappeared into the sky. any other spottings or ideas of what this might be??

    Like

  23. My family and I saw about 7 of them 4th of July between 9 and 11 in Nixa, MO. I got a very poor video of them but my sisters very nice camera would not pick up the image, they seemed to circle first around our house, quite low. At first we thought it was helicopters getting pictures of the fireworks, but there was absolutely no sound at all then moved farther away where we saw 7 following in a light circling and just disappearing. Strangest thing I have ever seen. There were two small planes that flew over shortly before we saw the largest group and a helicopter and we could absolutely hear those, I’ve looked up Chinese lanterns but there is now way they could do what we saw.

    Like

  24. I live in East St Louis, IL (about 3mins) from the Arch… I stepped outside my house at 9:30 to view the fireworks, and when I looked up, there was a single bright orange-red orb moving very slowly away(south) from the firework display. I immediately yelled “UFO!” to my mother, who was also watching at the time. I’m pretty close to Lambert airport and there is another airport close by in the city of Sauget, IL. I’ve lived here for 28years and I’ve seen MANY aircrafts fly over (all day and all night long). I’ve never saw an object like this before. And I know what fireworks in the night sky look like too. This was a big orange ufo in the sky, then it just disappeared.

    I wasnt sure what to do at this point, so i posted what i saw on facebook at exactly 9:30pm lol, I was hoping a friend would say “I saw something too…” No one said anything. After the fireworks were over, I turned around to walk back to the house.When I looked up, I saw the same (or similar) orange light moving over the Sauget – Cahokia, IL area, and i was traveling west. There was no sound, no flashing lights, and no fireworks going on this time. There was nothing but an orange orb of light moving towards Missouri. I watched for about a minute, then the object disappeared again. While unlocking my door, i could hear a helicopter… but I just walked in the house, because the orange object was gone, and the chopper was flying in the opposite direction

    Like

  25. Amy Crumpacker

    I dont even know where to begin but.. myself 2 other adults and at least 4 of the children we had with us witnessed the exact same things you all are describing. July 6th 2011 about 10pm.We were headed south on 69hwy coming out of kansas city home from warped tour and i noticed a light in the sky over overland park to the north west. we watched the same light display as all of you. we watched it off and on til we were about 20 miles north of fort scott! then we lost sight thru the trees and it was gone! My daughters are 16 and 14.. they both slept with me that night! im sure you all have an idea of how happy i was to see that you were all saying similar things. i thought i was losing my mind!

    Like

  26. jacqueline lutker

    july 4th around 10:30-11:00pm,my group of 6,we were at the independence ks park,just got finished watching the towns fireworks,and we were waiting for all the cars to leave before we tried to leave we all witnessed these red orb lights going over head from east to west,they didnt have any flashing to them,there were 5 of them,,,then we went to my moms there in independence ks,and we were sitting outside talking,,and this time with my parents that made our group to 8 people,,,well one red orb went right over the house going in southest to northwest direction,a couple of mins later another went over in the same flight pattern not going too fast and very low,,,then a couple of mins again another in same manner,,,three all together,,,very freaky,,,i dont know what they were,but i know they werent a plane helicopter hot air balloon or a lantern or flares,,,so that makes it a ufo in my eyes,,,unidentified flying object

    Like

  27. My daughter and I saw a large red orange object on july 3rd at around 11 p.m. in Villa Ridge, MO. I was in my car on my way home just a few feet from my house when I looked out my window and saw this very large bright circular object. At first I thought it was fireworks but quickly realized it was too high and too large. Then I thought maybe an airplane was on fire or maybe it was a comet, trying to rationalize. But it was moving slowly in a straight line across the sky. It was about as high as a small aircraft might fly. I hurried and pulled in the driveway to get out and get another look at the thing. My daughter had been watching it from the driveway at the same time I had seen it and we both looked up expecting to still see it at the slow speed it was traveling, but it was gone. She had seen the same thing from her angle and had been trying to rationalize was she was looking at the same way I had been. A couple of her friends told her it was the space station:] But I say it was too low and couldnt possibly have been. I dont know what it was but I’m 58 and have never seen anything like it in my life. I was very excited to find this website and to know I’m not the only one who saw this.

    Like

  28. My wife and I saw 6 of these things fly over Old Shawnee Town in Shawnee, KS on June 4th about 11pm. There were multiple witnesses who saw them. 2 of them flew directly above me and the orange light coming off of them appeared to be some kind of plasma discharge rather than a flame. They flew exactly parrallel to each other at the same speed and altitude. 3 more then appeared running in a straight line one behind the other and evenly spaced apart. For a few seconds a light came out of the side of the center one and then rotated to the ground before blinking off. Don’t see how these could have been lanterns as there speed was 300 to 400 mph I would estimate. Never seen anything like it. Maybe military??

    Like

  29. Camping girl

    My family and I were camping in Steep Falls, Maine on July 2, 2011 and saw 4 of the objects you all are describing. There was nothing going on at the campground to explain what they were!

    What happened is – we were sitting outside near the campfire at about 9:45 pm when I saw a bright orange object coming toward my campsite, well over tree level. The object had a shape that I can best describe as looking like a woman’s handbag, held upside down with a candle inside it so the firelight is shining through, also some firelight shining down from it. I could not hear any sound, and it traveled in a straight line over my campsite and then continued until it was out of sight. A few minutes later I saw another, in the exact same place as the first. Then another, about 5-10 minutes later, then a 4th about 5-10 minutes later.

    I have tried to think of a reasonable explanation, and have none. The campground is deep in the woods, and there are no airports nearby. My husband and kids all saw this, but nobody else at the campground commented on it.

    Like

  30. It is a Chinese Lantern that is made by Red Rhino Fireworks. I only know this because last year we bought one, and lit it, and watched it fly all over. We live in a rural area, so we could see it go on and on for a long time, and then it came back. We had a friend show up late to our gathering, and followed it on his way out to our place for a few miles. He thought it was a UFO, and was absolutely convinced that is was heading for our place. So when he arrived, he was screaming “Get the camera. Get the camera.” Once he calmed down, we realized he was talking about the lantern. They burn a long time, and once they get into some of those upper level winds, they just go all over the place. Then a couple of nights ago I got fooled by one too. Someone down the road must have lit one, and I was about to run in and get the camera, when I noticed that it looked like it was flickering like it had a flame. And I’m not trying to bust anyone’s bubble about UFO’s, because I do a lot of night fishing in some pretty dark places, and see things in the sky that I cannot explain or identify. If you ever watch the television show Deadliest Catch, this past season the crew of the ship Time Bandit played a trick on the ship the Northwestern using those lanterns. Just google Time Bandit UFO prank, and watch one of the videos. But don’t let that prevent you from looking up, the truth is out there.

    Like

  31. ok now i have to go buy a chinese lantern so I can see for myself if it resembles what we saw. If thats what it was it was really big. Im just looking for an explination. So ill get back with you…..

    Like

  32. PZW PSW AL E INN F15 F22 F35 FAN

    People in KC………
    GOOD WORK SO FAR…although some maybe actually were Chinese lanterns (i debunked several youtube videos to my satisfaction this way)….BUT……….WHY HAVE YOU ALL STOPPED LOOKING UP AT THE SKY?

    THE ACTIVITY IS INCREASING EVERY NIGHT, EVERY DAY.

    Last night, July 12, 2011 was predicted to be cloudy as hell. But I have been observing between 1 and 35 unusual flying objects per night for the last 3 weeks.

    LAST NIGHT WAS THE MOST IMPRESSIVE YET.
    The Moon was bright as hell, and very eerie by the time I began my 2nd watch of the night (11pm-12, and then 1:30 to 4 in the AM are the times I have observed the most activity lately). My first watch was like the last 6 or 7 nights…lots of planes, several probable planes (not 100% id’d), and 4 to 10 UFO/star looking objects clearly observed by me at around 15,000-25,000 feet. They are hard to track, and it even seems like they have a keen sense of just how to spoof the human synapses and retinae into losing them as they pass other starry patches. Seeing these things takes a little practice, but once you see 1 you will have plenty of motivation.

    Last nights second watch began at 2:30 AM, on the roof of my Apartment building (amazing view:top of a hill, plus 6 stories, plus me climbing another story worth onto the roof. I can see miles from there. Furthermore I am a former F-15 Pilot, and I really do know my planes, and I’ve got excellent vision and focus (like most fighter guys). I also know all about the stars, planets, atmosphere, cloud/light based false impressions, aurora borealis.

    Last night I saw 16 enormous, well stealthed Saucers fly over the city from the “moon”. The moon, I swear, is covered by a massive mothership. The sea of tranquility? Not there, in fact not one lunar feature was as it should have been. I saw several UFO’s covered with lights (disguise stealth) that flew over my house. Once they were far enough away they really looked like choppers. But right under them you will see its just a silent black rectangle with a dome canopy like “cockpit” that projects strange plasma streams around it that really fool the eyes.

    Last night I also say a UFO that looked like a gold toy-spinning top, just spinning in one spot right above the next building. It was spewing neon green, gold, and red plasma firey light from the seam it had in the middle. It flew straight up for a while, until a passenger plane appeared near by. Then this “top” turned into a “helicopter” with no noise and floated at heli speed and angle of attack towards the hospital (has a heli pad) right nearby. I thought I was going nuts and I had just seen a helicopter and my mind had colored in the rest, but as soon as the plane left the toy top flew right back to where it was and hung out for a minute. It then began a graceful and amazing journey up up and away until even I could not see it anymore. It clearly was space bound. I have noticed these things make a strange sound, but I can’t describe it yet. Maybe tonight I’ll ne able to separate it out from the city noise better.

    Like

  33. GREAT REVIEW! I pretty much agree with pretty much all you said in your post, especially at the end of your article. Thank you, your post is very valuable as always. Keep up the good work! You’ve got +1 more reader of your web blog:) Isabella S.

    Like

  34. I remember sitting on the porch with a friend one night an it was a year after my nephew died i decided that i wanted to smoke i asked a friend of mine did he kno were to get some smoke he said yes as i started to smoke a bright light appeared in the sky it stay their fore along time it nere move i ask my friend did he see what i see i said to him i know im not tripping do you see that bright light i wonder if thats my nephew trying to comunicate with me 2008

    Like

  35. On july 4th 2011, i observed two objects on a west heading flight path. My girl had observed a possible third object. I had dismissed her earlier comments as a mis identified aircraft until observing two myself.
    I would have initially classified them as orange/yellow meteors but the speed,altitude, and level flight path is not consistent with any observed meteors or inbound space debris.
    She observed hers north of our home in independence mo.
    I observed my first object north of my position, and the second was south.
    Both had similar paths and exhibited the same ” ball of flickering flame” appearance.
    No marker lights were seen, and when my second object had flown far enough west to be backlit by the western sky there was no discernable features beyond the round orange/yellow light.
    While i have no accurate way to judge distance/altitude, i do have a long and detailed interest in aviation and have an understanding of optical parallax, speed/height variance along with an understanding of common mistakes and anomalies.
    My best guess is the northern object was within five miles at approximately 6000ft. The southern object appeared a bit closer as it could be seen slightly better than the northern object. We have plenty of aviation activities both private, and commercial so i base my assumptions on observed aircraft and my basic knowledge of the area.
    Both objects held level flight and appeared to be travelling no faster than common jet aircraft. The northern objects path was blocked by trees as it flew farther west, but the southern object could be seen until it seemed to vanish.
    Each object appeared to maintain heading and speed.
    I am concerned, as i would like to think i am capable of identifying any man made object capable of flight. In this instance i am at a loss. I mean if it were a very large jet engine turned sideways in a fuselage burning some odd fuel that produced the spectrum we observed then at least there would be an example…
    Also on aug 6 2011 (saturday) i observed military formation overflights of my area. Five possible “tiger shark” fighters in formation making four passes at a lower altitude than most local aircraft but not “on the deck” as they say. I am concerned by the blackout paint and NO markings of any kind. There has been a long interval between these flights but i have observed two other instances this year. All in afternoon hours, making a number of passes seeming to loop north out of sight and appear again south of the last track. I hope to hear anything on this as there is never any news reports or available information. The same as the “fireball” objects on the 4th of july which most people were outside looking up….
    Thanks for giving a place to bring these issues to light.

    Like

  36. We sat the same single neon red glowing ball just north of Cape Girardeau Mo. on both 7-4,7- 5, 2011, approx 10:30 pm each night. Each with slightly different flight path on the different nights. Both nights traveling south to north. I live on a 50 acre lake subdivision, with only a small number of street lights, which makes for great sky looking. The glowing ball traveled directly over the deck and was approximately the size of a dime in the sky. My friend attempted photos with a cheap digital camera, but pics were blury and undistinguishable at best. I watched it through 8x binoculars as it approached, while overhead, and leaving. Round neon, like a ball of brilliant red fire is the color I would describe. Absolutely no sound, and as it traveled out of sight, the light stopped just like turning off a light switch. I am 55 yrs old and have never seen anything like this,

    disbelief after what we had just seyen. I am 55 yrs old, in all my years of star gazing, I have never seen anthing like this. disbelief

    Like

  37. On January 23rd, 2012 I saw a orange glowing ball of light just over the beach here in Santa Cruz, Ca. I called my daughter out to the backyard and we watched it. It seemed to get closer to us as it grew larger in size. At arms length about 7 inches in diameter. It stopped and hovered for about 15 seconds. We starred at it and it felt like I was starring into it. A sea of glowing orange like an ember in a fire with striations of a darker orange hue. It began to move away slowly and to the left. We ran upstairs to our deck and I called my husband out to see it. It moved away to the left, then up at a diagonal till it disappeared. The whole experience took about 2 to 2 1/2 minutes. The next day I spoke to my neighbor who is a retired military man, he said that he saw it also, but there were two moving together followed by a third solo one. The first two disappeared, then the third appeared and got much larger andcloser. It followed the same path as the first. two. All of this took place at 7:50 pm, 2 1/2 hours after sunset.

    Like

  38. Angela Sandor

    I just saw one like this last night august 3rd 2014 in Sarnia, Ontario.
    I was at a backyard party, and we had a bonfire going. And I saw this glowing ember in the sky. I kept watching it, to be sure it didn’t catch any trees on fire, and then it went behind the trees and came out the other side. The amount of time I spent watching it was about 3 mins total, before it went out.
    I sat and watched, then I walked to the other side of the backyard to get my friend to see it, and then we followed it to when it came out the other side. She finally took out her phone to get a picture and it just went out. In total 3-4 mins. It was yellow like an ember, and it didn’t blink like some planes do.
    When I got home, I googled UFO glowing ember, which led me to here. Not hard to conclude

    Like