NASA Experiment in Space Caught on ISS Cam

August 17, 2011

NASA experiment in Space caught on ISS Cam

Flame Extinguishment Experiment (FLEX)

Particle Physics on the International Space Station.

Source and author: Sheilaaliens (youtube)

9 responses to “NASA Experiment in Space Caught on ISS Cam

  1. Wow whatever their doing is something different! What do you think they’re doing?

    Like

  2. Whatever it is, I am impressed. As I watched this for a third time, I found myself smiling; proud of the possibility of making a possible leap like this.

    I would like to know more.

    Like

  3. Is it me or why was the sphere cut off on the right side but the star field was still showing just past the cut off point?
    NASA doesn’t use cheap camera’s they use high optic digital high def cameras on all their missions. They can put the image out of focus and phase for public viewing so you need the real copy of the feed from this experiment, unedited and unchanged.

    Like

  4. john l sullivan

    What got me was that at the start, there is a solid background, then as the process begins, it appears that you can see straight through almost everything into space!
    That is HEAVY stuff. Are they charging particles!
    I would love to know what they are doing, must dig deeper.

    Like

  5. Making it easier for “we the people” to review.
    NASA’s flex experiment page (similar vids):
    http://issresearchproject.grc.nasa.gov/Investigations/FLEX/

    The ISS live video stream can be seen at:
    http://www.nasa.gov/ntv
    or directly at:
    http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/isslivestream.asx

    Like

  6. I have put a FB button on my blog that will direct ppl to urs. Like ur blog, Always nice and updated info.🙂
    Gib.

    Like

  7. My ‘theory’ is: it is anti-matter particles being held by robotic arms on the outside of the ISS. Once the abti-matter is engaged(when the 2 arms come together), the robotic arms seperate; leaving the anti-matter/matter reaction floating in space. This could possibly be them working on a ‘wormhole’ or something relative. Just my thoughts & opinion. 🙂

    Like

  8. scott andrerson

    This is shown on the inside cover of Sept’s Discover magazine. It is an experiment using a drop of heptane to study combustion in microgravity. The fractal nature of the digital image is beautiful.

    Like

  9. I just hope they have a handle on it! We have done alot of “experiments” that we have ended up regretting. I wonder what our “neighbors” out there are thinking about it!

    Like