Mysterious Booms in Pocono, Pennsylvania and Ferndale, Michigan!

booms
Mysterious Booms
March 31, 2012

Pocono, Pennsylvania

Strong thunderstorms hit the Poconos Friday night, moving through shortly after 10 p.m. and continuing for at least a half hour, but the weather event that had folks talking was a loud sonic-like boom that shook houses at about 10:15 p.m.

Gilda Spiotta of Long Pond said, “The shaking last night lasted unusually long. Didn’t sound like thunder, didn’t feel like thunder, was wondering if something happened on 380/80; tanker accident.”

booms
Another Long Pond resident, Lorene R. Allman-Mars: “My son was at the back door letting the dogs out and he reported that he saw a large flash of light fill the sky toward/above the FedEx distribution site on 940, then he heard a loud boom. It didn’t look like lightning, it looked like a bomb blew up in the air. I was on the second floor of the house; I didn’t see anything but I heard the boom and felt it shake the house. I actually felt it under my feet. The floors shook; I have never felt lightning shake the house like that before and we’ve been up here 20 years!”

Some readers suggested an earthquake or an explosion, but said that definitely was no routine thunder.

Meteorologist and Pocono weather expert Ben Gelber offered this explanation: “One possibility is that thunderstorms in our chilly environment near the surface tonight, associated with an inversion of warm air aloft, sound much louder.”

He added, “The sound waves are refracted back to the surface and reverberate in ways that we normally do not experience as they bounce between the surface and the inversion near the base of the clouds.”

Other residents commented from across the Poconos:
“My kids and I heard the sound in Saw Creek,” said Winnie Michaluk. “Our windows rattled and our dogs were barking like crazy.”

Russo Albuja of Tobyhanna said, “I was driving along 196 on my way home from work when I felt the BOOM. It was so extreme, my car shook and on my left hand side on an empty field – all I saw was this HUGE flash of light coming from where the airport location would be at. Afterwards, I heard nothing. Kinda scared me that I rushed home and locked my doors.”

Katee McCarthy said, “Felt it here in the Tannersville area. Quite scary.” As of 11 p.m., she reported lightning and sleet in the area.

Tim Aziz said, “Just heard something at 10:35 in East Stroudsburg, the whole house vibrated!”

“ Yes I heard the boom, but thought it was just thunder!” said Pete Howey of Snydersville. That was the same reaction of Rosalie Ems, who said, “We heard it; just thought it was thunder rolling in with cold air against the warm air?”

Some more comments from our readers:

Elisabeth Foster Marshall: “Yes we did, here in Snydersville. My husband said right after “what the hell was that?!” he thought it was the furnace exploding….”

Jessica Gomez of Albrightsville: “We definitely heard it and felt it! It shook the whole house. What was it?”

Samantha Chevalier of Effort: “I definitely heard a loud noise and then my whole house shook, my dogs went crazy, and I smiled. I love thunder and lightning!”

Pamela Dunbar: “We live in Bushkill by Timothy Lake Resort, and we heard the boom. My granddaughter came out of her room and said, ‘Was that thunder?’ It sounded like a bunch of huge trucks barreling down the road.”

James Arnold: “We live in Tobyhanna and we felt it, too. We thought it was a storm starting and shut down all our electronics. Our whole house vibrated.”

Jennifer Knarr of Milford chimed in: “My husband and I were in bed watching tv when we heard this rumbling noise we thought it was thunder but it lasted a while he even got up to look outside no storms at that time here. We live in Milford on top of a mountain, sounded like a bunch of semi trucks going down our quiet street!”

Laura Bush: “Yes, I felt it here in Sciota. I immediately texted my kids in their rooms, ‘What the heck was that.’ One said, ‘I don’t know, earthquake?'”

JudyAnn Porter: “ I live in Pocono Farms Country Club and my family and I were sitting watching TV and felt a loud bang and the house shook. We thought it was a earthquake. We got our supplies together but heard nothing else after that. Someone mentioned thunder, but thunder doesn’t shake houses. Scary.”

Phillip Mangat: “Yeah around 10:35 I thought another meth lab went boom!!!”

Jill Nobles: “It sure felt like an explosion or an earthquake to me. I am up near Wooddale, by Analomink on the top of the mountain. At 10:12-ish, my whole house shook. It knocked things off of the counters, rattled things hanging on my walls, and shook my whole house violently. We didn’t sustain any damage, but the noise and the shaking were crazy. The sound was like an explosion, or a freight train in my bedroom. Not thunder.”

And another from Long Pond “I live in Emerald Lakes and at about 10:15p.m. I heard a loud noise and the house shook for about 5 seconds and my lights dimmed a little bit.”

Ferndale, Michigan

booms

Police said they searched the area but couldn’t confirm the cause of the noises. They said fireworks are a possibility.

Ferndale Police are investigating what might have caused three loud booms and light flashes that shook homes and concerned many local residents Saturday night.

The booms were heard around 9:30-10 p.m. and may have originated near the area of Hilton and Marshall. More than 40 people posted onFerndale Patch’s Facebook page about the incidents — describing flashes of light seen in the sky, their homes vibrating with the noise, and helicopters heard overheard following the sounds.

A Ferndale Police dispatcher said last night at 12:30 a.m. that they investigated the noise but could not find its cause. He said fireworks were a possibility.

Ferndale Police Lt. Casey O’Loughlin said Sunday morning that he was not aware of any reports made but said loud booms can be caused by fireworks.

“That’s usually what loud booms turn out to be are fireworks,” he said.

In Ferndale, any type of fireworks that explode or leave the ground are illegal, he said.

O’Loughlin said he was not aware of any helicopters being sent out.

Here’s what some Patch readers had to say about the noise:

  • Agnes: I’m at W. Marshall and Pinecrest and we heard them. The first one shook my house too. I also heard low flying helicopters. Once, right before the first and loudest boom and then once again after the third “boom”. I went outside a couple of times . . . but nothing seemed to be going on. I wonder what happened?
  • Cindy: There’s absolutely no way those were fireworks to shake people’s houses all over town, first of all…and, this is the 3rd or 4th time we’ve heard/felt some type of ‘explosion’ with absolutely no explanation from police at all. When/how are we going to get an answer!?
  • Chris: I was inside the New Way…didn’t hear anything due to the music, but noticed a very bright flash of light out the window. It did not look like any fireworks I have ever seen…much brighter.
  • Melissa: I was at the stop spot on 9 mile we saw the sky light up three times. It looked like lightening, twice south of 9 once north of 9 the booms followed. It absolutely did not sound like fireworks.

Source and author: ferndale booms

15 responses to “Mysterious Booms in Pocono, Pennsylvania and Ferndale, Michigan!

  1. it’s just pop up in my mind… think about the old times, I mean greek, nordics… they all have gods that could make “thunders and earthquakes”… just saying… I’m from Argentina, and not long ago, about 4am a “HUGE”, and I mean, real huge boom shook the house, bed moved, and the the whole house was lit up… a bright kind of blue light, that last long enough to go out mi bedroom and go to kitchen…

    Like

  2. marina pratt

    ARGENTINA! Really? Was there a thunderstorm with it? Do me a favor William…check your news media for that day and see what the weather was like…hail..thunder–and earthquake reports….Get back…If this stuff is what I think it is..tain’t no nordic or Greek God behind the controls..Also, if there are reports of booming in the area, perhaps the media would pick it up. I am tracking a possible HAARP connection to these reports..Yours is the first I have seen from South America. If you are on the web, see what you can find. If you don’t know what HAARP IS, there should be some stuff on UTUBE about it. I don’t know what they block in other places but so far here we have been able to get information on this subject. If I am not mistaken, this site has carriend articles about it. Please let us know. I am trying to find a pattern. Sincerely, Marina-3:50pm -est-4/2/12-USA

    Like

  3. You Know it is probably some new weapon that our illustrious Government is developing, and you know they are not going to let the common people know about it, or let alone let it out in the media. This government that runs things around here have been doing shady things with their secret Black Opps for years, and most of the citizens in this country are just sheeple who believe anything they are told. Like most of them say if it’s not on the news then it must not be true. I was a sheeple once who went about my life blindly believing anything that was told to me, and then I woke up!

    Like

  4. What can these f***k booms be finally????
    Any idea ???
    Anybody questioned the government???
    Or is it only the government farting????😀

    Like

  5. marina pratt

    Ok guys and gals…I think I have a clue. So, just here on this line, we have Wisconsin, north middle west /USA – Northern France/Europe- and Argentina/ south central South America. There are dozens of other reports from Upstate New York, Southern USA and I think I heard something about Britian and Russia..but don’t quote me..I have no links but I do scads of scanning…I am looking for a pattern, any pattern will do.

    While this appears random, clearly it is not…Now, there is the list of possible causes..That list appears to be isolated to a series of repeated finger pointing responses..
    .HARRP is big on the top.

    Crust movement comes in a rough 2nd.

    Then we have, underground drilling…[that is getting votes from the Wisconsin crowd.} I have also seen reports from Florida. This seems to me to rule out the underground drilling because Florida is formed on top of a water base which can be seen from the air in the enormous number of small waterways and lakes–while I know drilling can be done under water, this is not logical in this location because of the make up of the soil.

    Sky quakes have been pointed to by both NASA and the geology people from various sources…don’t buy it…they are as puzzled as everyone else but are forced to create something to salve the public response. It is not their fault. If they have a suspicion they cannot voice it for fear of loosing their jobs. In this, discussions of the SUN effect have also come up and been discounted. None the less it is worthy to keep the SUN in mind.

    Nibbiru-Have you seen this giant planet anywhere but in those ant-artic shots that have been floating out there in digital land? Nor have I. But again, because we don’t see it, does not mean it does not exist. I almost fell down the other day in my grandaughters bedroom because I DID NOT SEE the pair of blue jeans she had tossed on the floor..and the lights were on. Know what I mean? We wear blinders in our internal mental chatter. Happens to everyone.

    Let us go for the Galactic black hole burp–Throwing photons across the galaxy, this has an affect on everything but I would suspect it has to do with the heating of the inner core – which we are alluded to have in our planet–[new questions are now arising about that but don’t go there-it is REALLY complicated]

    NOW-Last but for sure not least…The Extra-terrestrial connection. ET is popping up everywhere. I have been accused of being a bit obsessive on this subject but when all else fails..that is where I go. I make jokes about ET all the time…drives my family nuts. I’m old so they think I am loosing it..Not so.

    Now I know ET has been discussed on this site rather extensively. My suggestion here is that we take all of that information and anything else we have picked up in our meanderings across the web cloud, roll it up into a ball and stare at it a while. When you seperate it, it seems random and distant not to mention unbelievable..Remember, denial is always the first choice when dealing with something unidentifiable. “If I did not see it, it cannot exist.”

    There are indications that Space War has commenced. The history of this is seen in a number of places. Who exactly that war is directed at is unknown but reports from some who have spoken of this seem plausable..I saw one the other day that simply blew me out of the water..The guy telling the story was like Joe the Plumber…unless he had experienced that, there was no way he could have created that tale out of whole cloth..he was not a believer, quite the opposite. But there it was. He was witness to the killing of some Greys in a tunnel he had been sent into for reasons I do not presently remember. [I was interrupted in my viewing] .

    Then there is that video of the shot fired behind a UFO that was moving very fast away from Earth. It was apparently taken by NASA and leaked. It has been out there for a while..I keep going over it when I run into it..It sure looks real to me.

    We have increasing pictures of artifaces on both the Moon and Mars. Who knows how they are slipping into the public domaine..They too are continually being examined by both amature and professional folks..Looks real to me..

    And so forth..Now, try this. Suppose ET is all pissed off and mad…better yet, suppose they have an ancient agenda and are now bringing it into being. Which ET? That is the question…There are various discriptions..you got your white hats and your black hats..You got your Reptilians and Your Pleadians..Who the hell knows..it is a shell game. None the less….

    In order to accomplish a planet wide event or series of events, you have to have spacific access to spacific areas of the planet..from above the planet. If, you are a “ET” living under the surface of the planet, you have access to the surface from underneath…It is rumored there is a whole civilization under our feet…The more I look at that, the more I am allowing that to have some truth. Hey, noone said this was easy–But like I said, I am old. What else am I going to do in my free time…?

    In all of that, it does look as if we are surrounded. Noone contests that the technology we have can’t lay a finger on these folks. So who is shooting at whom? The public voice of the government says this is all nonsense. Well, sure they do. I would also. This is a checkmate situation. I am hoping there is a white horse waiting in the wings with the win-win solution. They say, prayer works…I have seen it work…I keep working at it.

    But, we have to know where we are in all of this BOOMING stuff. Rather than rush up to a mountain somewhere, it is probably best to get our ducks in a row and our dots lined up and even if we don’t like it, take the medicine of what ever truth actually exists. We must stay calm and focused. We must over come our disabilities of short sightedness, self pity and blind hysterical fear. As Dr, Spock [Star Trek} would say…”That is not logical.”

    So, take your pick of the offerings above or vote for all of the above or add your own. In so doing, share your personal experiences with the latest rash of BOOM and track it longitude/latitide or name of place or what ever. If you see something in the sky–heliocopter or UFO, note it-time and date. I saw a video the other day that looked like a bird of prey–Holy shit! It was gorgous! But, what else was it?

    Now, remember, the USA is in a rough position in the “pay backs are a bitch” catogory. But then, so is Europe. Russia is behaving smugly. The middle east is seething. China is growing field fodder, as is India..The continual destruction of the Tibetian civilization is of extreem importance…China has bought Napal, the only escape the Tibetians had.

    OK- Now, look at the whole ball of wax. Where are the BOOMS happening? Where are they happening that we have not yet discovered here? What is seen or heard before the BOOM? [Note: one of my personal experiences with ET was involved with a heliocopter. I believe it was a Morphing or shielding image. HOLOGRAM that is the word.[ We have this technology by the way–It was suggested to have been used to hide rockets during the 9/11 event..long story but plausable…]

    Ok…I am long here but you get the point–right? NAMESTE – Marina
    11:12am-est/4/3/12-USA

    Like

  6. why no interesting events happening in New Zealand, all we get are windstorms lately, not very fun to drive in those, trucks getting blown over on the motorway and houses torn apart, but i want to hear some booms or something, there’s no mystery to a wind storm we know its global warming and climate change and we know its scary and does alot of damage.

    Luke

    Like

  7. marina pratt

    Hi Luke–How ya be? I understand there was a big boom in a place called pine gap in australia..was just a rumor of course…I am sure noone knows for sure…we have had no rain here..it has been warmish and calm. I am edgy as can be though–not normal for me..change is hard..My love to you and yours…Any activity on that little fault line of yours…? Love to have some pix…Never been to your neck of the planatary woods..Maybe some day –Till then, Nameste–[Mr Nobody reminded me–I used to use that all the time…It sounds better than Sincerely –which I usually don’t spell right anyway…so Namaste – Marina 7:47pm-est/4/3/12-USA

    Like

    • Ive been good thanks marina, busy with life outside TTBTS lately so not many posts. There hasnt been much happening in NZ except for extreme and abnormal weather causing all sots of havoc, forests torn down by winds and houses torn apart, trucks flipped and a few 4 pointer earthquakes but theyre the norm for my region as were right in the shadow of a dormant volcano.

      Luke

      Like

  8. Hi,Booms what is causing these mysterious booms that shake houses,buildings,its heard by citizens nobody has an answer,as yet,so can cause it if you take your average thunderstorm at a distance,it sounds like a canon being fired,but on a clear day,i presume what other factors are there,underground drilling via a tunnel boring machines around 1-5kms underground isnt uncommon,its used in many mining operations worldwide,tunnelling,earth crust displacement is a possible cause where you have tectonic plate movement,in south africa,i live near a mountain windless days,no wind,just a loud crack,and boulders come sliding down the mountain,there possible explanations,its not news worthy enough.loud booming sounds,with bright blue flashes of light,well 1 canidate does come up here,that is a “short Circuit” in the upper atmosphere.and that could very well be the earths magnetosphere being charged up by solar activity,and when it discharges to earth you going to get these loud booming sounds,with occasional flahes of light,that is a most likely possible canidate,”short circuit”of electricity,from the magnetosphere to earth in seconds,sounds like a bombs going off in the distance,tectonic plate slippage near the earths surface,minor tremors,possible boomingcracking sounds,if some people could possibly provide sound recordings of these booming sounds,because then it can be determined by determining the frequency of the booming sounds,and then find the frequency of what cause these booming sounds in correlation with the frequency they at,sounds have frequencies,by looking at the frequency of the sounds,it could provide some answers,just an idea,to look at,any hamradio operators in those areas,maybe they can give there ideas?

    Like

  9. While I am not sure if this actually ties into the booms that are now being heard, I live in Central Illinois, and there have been some strange occurrences here as well, however the occurrences aren’t new such as these noise seems to be. I first heard the booms here in Illinois last fall, and they continued up until about Christmas. They were a distance from my house, and sounded like either artillery fire, or dynamite being set off in a mine. However they did make the windows rattle, and even tossed a couple of items off the wall on one occasion. I checked with the helicorders in the area, and nothing showed up on any of them within a hundred miles in any direction during the times I heard the booms.

    As some of you may remember we had a series of earthquakes back in 2008, including a 5.4, that shook my area pretty significantly. Before and since those earthquakes there have been strange noises, that one could hear only at night, when the traffic, and other neighborhood noises were non-existent. There were three different types of noises; a.) noises that sounded like a train far off in the distance, b.) noises that sounded like a hydraulic pump kicking on for a few seconds, and than kicking off for a few seconds, then kicking back on, and third and lastly, c.) a sound like a gigantic rush of water, such as there would be when water is going over a dam.

    a.) The nearest train track to my house is over 20 miles, and the noise we heard went on for over 10 minutes, much longer than it would take a train to pass through the area. b.) There is no industry in and around our area that would explain the hydraulic pump sound. c.) There is no dam in over 50 miles of my house, and it is nothing compared to a large dam like Hoover Dam.

    The a.) and c.) sounds sounds a lot like sounds that have been recorded prior to a volcano discharge. With the water rush sounding like a lava movement. Whether any of these sounds have any relationship to a volcano is unknown, but the area where I live and further south does show much evidence of past volcanic activity.

    There is also one more piece to the puzzle. Helicorders across the area have been showing what appears to be signs of harmonic tremors at various times. With the last occurrence that I have noted being on March 31, 2012, and although I have not seen the harmonic patterns seen on March 31st since, there have been some strange readings on the helicorders that would appear to be less than normal, however these anomalies could be caused by some nearby interference, however its seems unlikely that the same vibrations would be displayed on helicorders that were miles apart.

    There is little doubt in my mind that what is causing these strange booms is not man made, however the “jury is still out” on what is causing them. I, however, do not believe that they are fireworks discharges because it would take a massive fireworks to shake houses the way that people have described them doing.

    Like

  10. Kim Patterson

    Had two loud booms here today! Sounded like an explosion. dogs were freaking! Around 4:30. I’m in Laingsburg, MI….about 15 miles North of Lansing.

    Like

  11. Don’t think too hard about it.

    It’s more obvious than you realize.

    Like

  12. marina pratt

    This morning I woke up to an announcement by the national weather people telling the world that they are alarmed by the high tempratures they are seeing through March and early April. According to the report, hundreds or more records are being broken day after day—Included in the statement was an indication that some normal lower temps were found here and there but they did not say where “here and there” were exactly.

    This all appeared to be a nod to the global warming debate. Like, “Oh, yeah, about the global warming thing, it might just be real but we don’t get it actually. ” My question to them is, “How come we here seem to get it and you don’t?” This is your basic, DO YOU BLOODY HOME WORK FOLKS! retort. Dollars to donuts they are not listening.

    So, what this once again makes clear is..we are on our own. We have to field the information we get that applies to us where ever it is we live on this planet. Apparently in New Zeland straight line winds are really kicking up the landscape…All through the middle west in the USA, the weather is spooky with the occasional BOOM to keep folks on their toes. I don’t suppose any of that comes under the catogory of weather as defined in the national weather information outlets in this country. Most folks, as a result, are just going about their business, blessing the warm…HUMM?

    So, maybe the poster above [06/14/13 ] has a good point there->”Don’t think too hard about it. It is more obvious than you realize.”<-

    I found another possible HAARP site..it does not appear to be up and runing yet. I will let you know.I know some boots on the ground who will keep in touch. Nameste' – Marina – 9:03am-est – 4/10/12 – USA

    Like

  13. Collision of Souls

    3 30 2012 at 10:10 pm? What could those numbers mean?

    Like